The Commonwealth of Massachusetts
Department of Industrial Accidents
Office of Investigations
Lafayette City Center
2 Avenue de Lafayette, Boston, MA 02111-1750
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Workers’ Compensation Insurance Affidavit: General Businesses

Applicant Information Please Print Legibly

Business/Organization Name:

Address:

City/State/Zip: Phone #:
Are you an employer? Check the appropriate box: Business Type (required):

1.[] 1ama employer with employees (full and/ 5. [ Retail

or part-time).* 6. [] Restaurant/Bar/Eating Establishment

2.L] Tamasole proprietor or partnership and have no 7. [] Office and/or Sales (incl. real estate, auto, etc.)

employees working for me in any capacity.
[No workers’ comp. insurance required] 8. [] Non-profit
3. ] Wearea corporation and its officers have exercised 9. [] Entertainment
their ri},{ht of ex[;mptionkper c. 152, §1(4), and we I}avg v 10.["] Manufacturing
no employees. [No workers” comp. Insurance required]
4[] Wearea non-profit organization, staffed by volunteers, 11.L] Health Care
with no employees. [No workers” comp. insurance req.] 12.[] Other

*Any applicant that checks box #1 must also fill out the section below showing their workers” compensation policy information.
**If the corporate officers have exempted themselves, but the corporation has other employees, a workers’ compensation policy is required and such an
organization should check box #1.

I amn an employer that is providing workers’ compensation insurance for my employees. Below is the policy information.

Insurance Company Name:

Insurer’s Address:

City/State/Zip:

Policy # or Self-ins. Lic. # Expiration Date:
Attach a copy of the workers’ compensation policy declaration page (showing the policy number and expiration date).

Failure to secure coverage as required under § 25A of MGL c. 152 can lead to the imposition of criminal penalties of a fine up
to $1,500.00 and/or one-year imprisonment, as well as civil penalties in the form of a STOP WORK ORDER and a fine of up to
$250.00 a day against the violator. Be advised that a copy of this statement may be forwarded to the Office of Investigations of
the DIA for insurance coverage verification.

I do hereby certify, under the pains and penalties of perjury that the information provided above is true and correct.

Signature: Date:

Phone #:

Official use only. Do not write in this area, to be completed by city or town official.

City or Town: Permit/License #

Issuing Authority (check one):
1] IBoard of Health 2.[] Building Department 3] ] City/Town Clerk 4. DLicensing Board
5] ] Selectmen’s Office 6.[ ]Other

Contact Person: Phone #:
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Information and Instructions

Massachusetts General Laws chapter 152 requires all employers to provide workers’ compensation for their employees.
Pursuant to this statute, an employee is defined as “...every person in the service of another under any contract of hire,
express or implied, oral or written.”

An employer is defined as “an individual, partnership, association, corporation or other legal entity, or any two or more
of the foregoing engaged in a joint enterprise, and including the legal representatives of a deceased employer, or the
receiver or trustee of an individual, partnership, association or other legal entity, employing employees. However, the
owner of a dwelling house having not more than three apartments and who resides therein, or the occupant of the
dwelling house of another who employs persons to do maintenance, construction or repair work on such dwelling house
or on the grounds or building appurtenant thereto shall not because of such employment be deemed to be an employer.”

MGL chapter 152, §25C(6) also states that “every state or local licensing agency shall withhold the issuance or
renewal of a license or permit to operate a business or to construct buildings in the commonwealth for any
applicant who has not produced acceptable evidence of compliance with the insurance coverage required.”
Additionally, MGL chapter 152, §25C(7) states “Neither the commonwealth nor any of its political subdivisions shall
enter into any contract for the performance of public work until acceptable evidence of compliance with the insurance
requirements of this chapter have been presented to the contracting authority.”

Applicants

Please fill out the workers’ compensation affidavit completely, by checking the boxes that apply to your situation and, if
necessary, supply your insurance company’s name, address and phone number along with a certificate of insurance.
Limited Liability Companies (LLC) or Limited Liability Partnerships (LLP) with no employees other than the members
or partners, are not required to carry workers’ compensation insurance. If an LLC or LLP does have employees, a policy
is required. Be advised that this affidavit may be submitted to the Department of Industrial Accidents for confirmation of
insurance coverage. Also be sure to sign and date the affidavit. The affidavit should be returned to the city or town
that the application for the permit or license is being requested, not the Department of Industrial Accidents. Should you
have any questions regarding the law or if you are required to obtain a workers’ compensation policy, please call the
Department at the number listed below. Self-insured companies should enter their self-insurance license number on the
appropriate line.

City or Town Officials

Please be sure that the affidavit is complete and printed legibly. The Department has provided a space at the bottom

of the affidavit for you to fill out in the event the Office of Investigations has to contact you regarding the applicant.
Please be sure to fill in the permit/license number which will be used as a reference number. In addition, an applicant that
must submit multiple permit/license applications in any given year, need only submit one affidavit indicating current
policy information (if necessary). A copy of the affidavit that has been officially stamped or marked by the city or town
may be provided to the applicant as proof that a valid affidavit is on file for future permits or licenses. A new affidavit
must be filled out each year. Where a home owner or citizen is obtaining a license or permit not related to any business
or commercial venture (i.e. a dog license or permit to burn leaves etc.) said person is NOT required to complete this
affidavit.

The Office of Investigations would like to thank you in advance for your cooperation and should you have any questions,
please do not hesitate to give us a call.

The Department’s address, telephone and fax number: .
The Commonwealth of Massachusetts

Department of Industrial Accidents
Office of Investigations
Lafayette City Center
2 Avenue de Lafayette,
Boston, MA 02111-1750

Tel. (857) 321-7406 or 1-877-MASSAFE
Fax (617) 727-7749
Form Revised 7/2019 www.mass.gov/dia




The Comm onwealth of Massach usetts

I certifi under the penaltiag of perjury that L, to the best of my knowledge and belief, have
filed all state tax returns and paid all state taxes required under law.

*signarure of Individual By Corporate Officer
or Corporate Name (Mandatory) (Mandatory if applicable)

** Socia) Security Number
or Fedara] Identification Number

** Your Social Security number will be furnish ed to the Massachusetts Department of Revenye to
determine whether You have met tax filing or tax Payment obligations. Lecensees who fail to
correct their non-filin g or delinquency will be subject to license SUSDERSion or revocation.

This request is made under the authority of Massach usetis General Law Chapter 62C, Section
494, -

ADMINISTRATIVE PROVISI ONS chapter 62C section 49A

49A. Certification of compliance with tay laws ag prerequisite to obtaining license or
sovernmental contract :

(a) Any person applying to any department, board, commission, division, auth ority, distriet or
other agency of the commonwealth or any subdivisjop of the commonwealth, including a
city, town or district, for a right or license to conduect a profession, trade or business, or for
resewal of such right or license, shall certify upon such application, under penalties of per-
jury, that he has complied with all laws of the commonwealth relating to taxes. Such right

or license shall not be issued or renewed unless such certification is made,

(b) No contract or other agreement for the purposes of pbroviding goods, services or real estafe
Space to any of the foregoing agencies shall be entered into, renewed or extended with any
berson unless such person certifies iy writing, under pepalties of perjury, that he has com
complied with all [aws of the tommonwealth relating to taxes.

(¢ ) Any such agency, which has been notified by the commissioner pursuant fo section forty
seven A that a person who bolds a license or certificate of authority issued by such agency
or who has agreed to furnish goods, services or real estate space {0 such agency has neglected
or refused to file any returns or to pay any {ay required under this chapter and that such per-
son has not filed in sood faith a pending application for abatement of such tay or 2 pending
petition before the Appeilate Tax Board contesting such tax, shail refuse to reissue, renew or
extend such ficense, certificaie of authority, contract or agreement until the agency recejves
a certificate issued by the commissioner that the person is in good standing with respect to
any and all returps due to tayes payable to the commissioner 2s of the date of issuance of said
certificate. including all returns and taxes referenced in the intitial potification. |




ADMINISTRATIVE PROVISIONS chapter 62C  section 49A

49A Certification of compliance with tax laws as prerequisite to obtaining license or
sovernmental contract:

(a) Apy person applying to any department, board, commission, division, authority,

district or other agency of the commonwealth or any subdivision of the commonwealth
including a city, town or district, for a right or license to conduct a profession, trade or
business, or for the renewal of such right or license, shall certify upon such application
under penalties of perjury. that he has complied with all laws of the commonwealth
relating to taxes. Such right or license shall not be issued or renewed unless such

certification is made.

(b) No contract or other agreement for the purposes of providing goods, services or real

(c}

estate space to any of the foregoing agencies shall be entered into, renewed or extended
with any person unless such person certifies in writing, under penalties of perjury
that he complied with all laws of the commonwealth relatmg to taxes.

Any such agency, which has been notified by the commissioner pursuant to section
forty-seven A that a person who holds 2 license or certificate of authority issued by
such agency or who has agreed to furnish goods, services or real estate space to su ch
agency has neglected or refused to file any returns or to pay any tax required under
this chapter and that such person has not filed in good faith pending application for
abatement of such tax or pending a petition before the Appellate Tax Board contesting
such tax, shall refuse to reissue, renew or extend such license, certificate of authority,
contract or agreement until the agency receives a certificate issued by the
commissioner that the person is in good standing with respect to any and all returns
due and taxes payable to the commissioner as of the date of issuance of said certi-
ficate, including all returns and taxes referenced in the initial notification.




